Puppets and Stuff
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
Female Puppets?  (Read 7668 times)
Faquad
No Avatar
« on: January 15, 2011, 09:34:39 pm »

Greetings,
I'm new to both puppet making and this forum.  I have succeeded in making 4 puppets (1 many years ago, and 3 recently).
The last 2 puppets I have made are from a pattern I purchased which uses felt sheets (9"x12"), and I'm very happy with the results.

My question here, is how I could modify the pattern, etc. in a way I could add breasts to a female puppet.
One thought I had was to purchase a styrofoam ball, cut it in half, then glue the felt to the 1/2 balls which would form the shape.
However, I'm concerned with the extra felt required.  Another thought I had was along the same lines, using the foam balls, then gluing seperate felt to them, then gluing these foam covered 1/2 spheres to the puppets chest.  The problem with this would be the "seam" that would appear where the breasts meet the body.

I have seen female puppets with breasts, just not sure how to go about it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Shawn Sorrell
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2011, 06:57:51 am »

You have the right idea. You could also cut out Half circle shapes then sew two of them together on the curve, then stuff them with poly fill or even something like the small styro beads that come in bean bags.  You then sew the two straight edges to the puppet.  You might have to add a bit of curve to the straight edge depending on the shape of the body.
jeezbo
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2011, 11:05:53 am »

it sounds like you are heading in the right direction with this, however, there will always be a visable seam with felt, i guess you could always make the puppets body with the breasts already glued on, then cover the torso and breasts with the felt, thus giving a better coverage, but it depends on whether the puppet is wearing clothes that cover the chest, because if the chest was covered, it wouldnt matter about the seam!!