I'm new to puppets and made a Marinette puppet out of a 3' plastic skeleton from Walmart. 
I Happy with how it came out but I'm having problems with making the mouth work right. I've looked all over Utube and can't find much on how to make the mechanism to have it work right
I made my own, but it's very hard to pull the string to get it to open up.
Stays good closed and it's really easy to move if I just do it with my hand but the string just is way to had to pull.
I've got it strung thru the head at the top and the thru the Tophat with 1/4 in holes drilled for each are they to big or to small 
 I use a hand built airplane controller 
I made it from " Puppets by Arline"
[I think that's her name]
Any help in finding a video on how to make the mechanism for the mouth would be a great help to me
Thanks in advance 
THE BUZ
Comments
By Shawn on Jan 12, 2024, 2:20 PM
Welcome to Puppets and Stuff!

So what did you use to keep the mouth shut?  Counter weight or spring?  

The diameter of the hole through the hat and head shouldn't really matter much as long as there is no resistance applied to the string.

Can you upload an image of the jaw so we can see what you have done?  That might help us figure out what is going on.
By Buz on Jan 12, 2024, 7:02 PM
Message Image
By Buz on Jan 12, 2024, 6:37 PM
Message Image
By Shawn on Jan 13, 2024, 7:41 AM
If I am understanding correctly the images and details, I think it may be because there is too much resistance on the fishing line. From the point where the line is attached inside the head does it have to angel to the point where it comes out of the head?  Also then when it goes through the hat is there any angle?  For a marionette you really want the string to come straight up and out of the head and hat without it having to rug against any surface.